Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger military juntas announce exit from ECOWAS

On Sunday, the military governments of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger jointly declared their immediate departure from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

The leaders of these three Sahel countries made the announcement in a collective statement, stating that their decision to withdraw from ECOWAS was a “sovereign choice” that would be implemented “without delay.”

All three countries were suspended from ECOWAS, with Niger and Mali facing severe sanctions.

In light of these recent developments, the military juntas have taken a more firm stance and formed an “Alliance of Sahel States.”

Niger had hoped for a chance to address differences with fellow ECOWAS member states but faced isolation, enduring heavy economic and financial sanctions after the military coup that ousted President Mohamed Bazoum.

After 49 years, the resilient people of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger express deep regret, bitterness, and disappointment in ECOWAS, which they feel has strayed from the ideals of its founders and Pan-Africanism.

Under the influence of foreign powers, ECOWAS is accused of betraying its founding principles and becoming a threat to member states and their populations. The organization is criticized for not providing adequate support in the fight against terrorism and insecurity. Additionally, ECOWAS is condemned for adopting an irrational and unacceptable stance by imposing illegal, illegitimate, inhumane, and irresponsible sanctions, further weakening populations already suffering from years of violence orchestrated by external forces.

See also  CBN Retracts Cybersecurity Levy Circular Following FG Suspension

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *